ACEA Defining Engine Lubricant Quality and Performance

ACEA Defining Engine Lubricant Quality and Performance

Mar 25, 2016

Topics: Specifications

The ACEA Oil Sequences play a crucial role in the on-going evolution of oil technology worldwide. They are used in vehicle handbooks as the minimum quality level for service fill oils by many OEMs. They are also the baseline of performance upon which the majority of OEM specifications are built. Since their introduction in 1996, usage of the ACEA Oil Sequences has grown, and today, performance claims for many engine oils around the world are based on them.

The ACEA Oil Sequences are divided into three classes, each of which indicates the general type of engine that the oils in each class are designed for use with:

• ACEA A/B - for gasoline and light duty diesel engines
• ACEA C - for gasoline and light duty diesel engines with aftertreatment systems
• ACEA E – for heavy-duty diesel engines

Within each of the classes there are different categories, each denoted by a number, and containing a range of performance requirements designed to determine the suitability of an engine oil for use in a specific application.

The Oil Sequences are updated periodically, with each update referred to by the year of issue. The most recent update being ACEA 2016.

Understanding the differences between the different ACEA classes and categories, is important when choosing the appropriate performance claim for a specific oil. That understanding can also be useful in describing the oil’s features and benefits and helping a mechanic to explain the value and benefit that it provides to a consumer.


Get Lubrizol360 updates in your inbox. Sign up today.